+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Big 2 stage cascade by piotres (2x 2+HP)

  1. #1
    Phase Guru piotres's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Poland/ Warsaw
    Posts
    338

    Default Big 2 stage cascade by piotres (2x 2+HP)

    Hello

    I'm making currently 2 stager with monsterous big 230V 1PH rotaries 2 rotaries over 25K BTU (2+HP).

    +4 pressure gauges, 2 controllers, bypass, 2x cut-off, big expansion tank, 2 plate HXes (one as SLHX on 2nd stage).

    Case with 4mm thick steel baseplate (because each compressor is over 25kg ).

    It'll be worklog .











































  2. #2
    Phase Guru piotres's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Poland/ Warsaw
    Posts
    338

    Default



























    Today I plan to screw all parts to baseplate

    Regards
    Peter

  3. #3

  4. #4
    Phase Guru piotres's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Poland/ Warsaw
    Posts
    338

    Default

    Plate HXes brazed :






  5. #5
    Phase Guru piotres's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Poland/ Warsaw
    Posts
    338

    Default





    I must change compressor on 1st stage for brand new Toshiba approx 28000BTU - "old" one was light used compressor, newertheless is has a leak (yes, leak on compressor :-O - first time I've seen that) on top, near electric connections. After I finish that project I try to weld and reapair it, now it has gone to shelf in mine workshop.

    so now 2 brand new and BIG rotaries in the cascade :yepp: .



    Old one unbrazed .



    New one mounted .



















    Cascade is 100% brazed, during some next days I plan loadtests .

  6. #6
    Phase Guru piotres's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Poland/ Warsaw
    Posts
    338

    Default

    After some complications (bad oilseparator - mixed discharge and suction ;/) and removing SLHX (it hadn't performed well in this cascade), I have made it running fine .







    Today approx -100C@315W with "cloth" pipe insulation on one thermomether.



    and -103C same time on another one .



    On this color I plan to spray pipes this weekend .

  7. #7
    Phase Guru piotres's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Poland/ Warsaw
    Posts
    338

    Default

    Pipes painted, insulation done, most of electric work done :

























    Regards
    Peter

  8. #8
    Phase Guru piotres's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Poland/ Warsaw
    Posts
    338

    Default

    Finished a long time ago, but I haven't got time to upload pictures :













    Unloaded temperatures . Carel controller on 1st stage shows around 8*C higher temperature than real, and that's end of it's probe tune area :shakes:.







    Loaded with 315W dummyload .



    Sound level loaded .





    Black cascade and mine black cat .

















    Regards
    Peter

  9. #9
    Forum Member almighty15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    180

    Default

    That's sick!!!

  10. #10
    Stock Air cooling
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    10

    Default

    This is very nice, who is the lucky sod taking delivery of this...

  11. #11
    Phase Guru piotres's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Poland/ Warsaw
    Posts
    338

    Default

    One person from this forum . I'm not sure if he doesn't want to be anonymous .

  12. #12
    Forum Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    West Midlands UK
    Posts
    114

    Default

    amazing temps on that load piotres.

    big beasty compressors


    how many hours does it take you to build one of these things inc tuning if ya dont mind me asking

  13. #13
    Super Moderator-Benchtec Legend 4Qman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,319

    Default

    very impressive, thanks for sharing photos.
    Get me home already!!!!!!!!

  14. #14
    Sponsored by Stannah maverik-sg1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Redditch, UK
    Posts
    12,797

    Default

    Hey Peter,

    Awesome build as always.

    Whats the highest load a cascade like this could be tuned for @ -100 load temps?


    Former HWBOT and CPC World No1 Bencher

    http://www.hwbot.org/user.do?userId=5051

    HWBOT Quote:

    (highest rank ever: 1st at 05 Nov 2006 12:30, most hwboints ever: 331.7 points at 05 Nov 2006 12:30)

    Voltage - The solution and cause of all your overclocking problems .

    Please forgive my grammar and spelling - My Keyboard is dyslexic

  15. #15
    Phase Guru piotres's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Poland/ Warsaw
    Posts
    338

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MaRtIee! View Post
    amazing temps on that load piotres.

    big beasty compressors


    how many hours does it take you to build one of these things inc tuning if ya dont mind me asking
    Never count, but I think approx 70-100 hours of work

    Quote Originally Posted by maverik-sg1 View Post
    Hey Peter,

    Awesome build as always.

    Whats the highest load a cascade like this could be tuned for @ -100 load temps?

    I think that approx 350W .

    Thanks .

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts